Home > BLOOM > “…Receive the Holy Spirit” John 20:22

The Holy Spirit and the Catholic Church

Who is the Holy Spirit?

The Holy Spirit, according to St JoséMaria, is the Great Unknown.

He is the third person of the Holy Trinity.

The Catholic Church sings of Him in the Creed saying;

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and the Son, who with the Father and the Son is adored and glorified, who has spoken through the prophets.

The Holy Spirit is called many names including:

Paraclete (Advocate), Consoler (Comforter), the Spirit of Truth, Spirit of Christ, Spirit of the Lord, Spirit of God, Spirit of Glory, Spirit of the Promise, and so on.

Symbols representing Him include;

Dove (for purity, gentleness, peace), Fire (for transformation), Living Water (John 4:10), Wind, Anointing with Oil, The Clouds, Imposition of hands, etc.

His Mission?

> He spoke through the prophets (Inspiration) > The Incarnation (the Overshadowing of the Blessed Virgin) > Always with the Messiah
> Pentecost (the outpouring of the Spirit)
> Sanctification – The Giver of Life (Grace)

The Holy Spirit bears a lot of gifts and fruits in our lives. They include the following:


These are the seven gifts of the Spirit and these give rise to the twelve fruits of the Spirit

Wisdom Understanding
Knowledge Counsel
Fortitude Piety
Fear of the Lord


Love Joy
Peace Patience
Kindness Gentleness
Goodness Faithfulness
Chastity Modesty
Self-control Long suffering (endurance)

Pentecost is fast approaching and all around the world, Catholics are preparing for the coming of the Holy Spirit with a ten days prayer to Him, asking for our various general and personal intentions. You can also be a part of this prayer by clicking this link.

We should always pray to the Holy Spirit. He is always with us and willing to listen and help.